What are the Stations of the Cross?

The Sufferings of Jesus in the Stations of the Cross

View the largest collection of Good Friday Videos, Good Friday PowerPoint Sermon Templates, Good Friday Bulletin Covers, Good Friday Flyers and Cross Clipart.
Procession to Calvary   Women in Sadness
The Stations of the Cross was started by St. Francis of Assisi and continues being observed in the Roman Catholic Church. While some Anglicans and Lutherans offer a traditional chapel devotion related to the Stations of the Cross, others do not.

Roman Catholics observe the Stations of the Cross during the season of Lent, especially on Good Friday. The goal in offering traditional devotions is to help Christians make a personal, spiritual pilgrimage through prayer and meditation. During this time, Christians are asked to carefully consider the main scenes of Christ's sacrifice on the cross of Calvary.

The following 14 scenes are included in the complete Stations of the Cross observance.

1. Jesus is condemned to death

2. Jesus receives the cross

3. Jesus falls the first time

4. Jesus meets His Mother

5. Simon of Cyrene carries the cross

6. Veronica wipes Jesus' face with her veil

7. Jesus falls the second time

8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

9. Jesus falls the third time

10. Jesus is stripped of His garments

11. Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross

12. Jesus dies on the cross

13. Jesus' body is removed from the cross

14. Jesus is laid in the tomb

Written by: Jamee Rae




See all articles >